San Antonio Domestic Violence Lawyers
Being charged with domestic violence can be a very frightening and stressful experience. A conviction can result in the loss of your professional license, the loss of your gun rights, and the loss of your right to see your children. The consequences of a domestic violence conviction can be devastating and long-lasting. Fortunately, our San Antonio domestic violence attorneys at The Locke Law Group can provide experienced and knowledgeable representation to help you avoid a conviction.
We are available to discuss your case with you and can provide you with a confidential consultation to discuss your options. Call us at (210) 361-3113 or reach out online to request yours.
Texas Domestic Violence Laws
Domestic violence can involve the following people:
- Former spouses
- People who live together
- Parents and children
- Adoptive parents and their children
- Stepparents and stepchildren
- People related by blood or marriage
- People who have a child together
- People who have a dating relationship
In addition to the criminal charges, a person who has been found guilty of domestic violence may be subject to a protective order. A protective order is an order issued by a judge that prohibits a person from contacting another person or coming within a certain distance of that person. If you have been accused of domestic violence, you should contact our San Antonio domestic violence lawyers immediately to begin building your defense.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Texas
In Texas, simple domestic violence is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. If your offense involved the use of force or violence against a family member, household member, or intimate partner, your sentence can be increased to up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. If your offense involved the use of force or violence against a family member, household member, or intimate partner and resulted in serious bodily injury, your sentence can be increased to between two and ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
In addition to the criminal penalties, a conviction for domestic violence can result in the loss of your right to own a gun and your right to see your children. You may also be subject to mandatory counseling, community service, and probation.
Contact Our Attorneys Today
If you have been charged with domestic violence, you need to contact our San Antonio domestic violence lawyers immediately. We will work with you to build a strong defense for your charges and can help you fight for your rights.